JURY'S CHOICE

 

Teshaieva Mila

Lives and works in Berlin

 

www.milateshaieva.com

 

 

 

InselWesen

 

In my project InselWesen I portrayed the North-­‐Frisian island Foehr as an imaginary world, where isolation of a place creates special connection of humans with their nature. I applied a photography style reminiscent of old painting to emphasize this mystical connection and coexistence of past and present in the daily lives of people on the island.

 

Once a lonely spot in the North Sea and a home for whale hunters the island Föhr is now trying to protect its unique identity from assimilation and disappearance. Representing one of the last remaining communities in Germany with its own language the people of Föhr are connected with the island to some almost mystical extent. These bonds have complex facets and nowadays islanders also find themselves in an invisible conflict between modernity and traditions.

 

Developing the work in course of two years of being in an art-­‐residence on the Island, I have engaged myself into intensive interaction with community of native islanders and was accepted to the closed circles of their life. I photographed people in the complete darkness in their usual living and working environment, and used a gentle hand-­‐light like a painting brush to reveal the picture. This distinctive technic allowed me to visualize the island on the border of fantasy, underlining, at the same time the fragility of its real essence.

SÉLECTION DU JURY

 

Teshaieva Mila

Vit et travaille à Berlin

 

www.milateshaieva.com

 

 

 

InselWesen

 

Dans mon projet InselWesen (en français : natures insulaires), j’ai photographié l’île allemande de Föhr située en Frise septentrionale, comme un monde imaginaire où l’isolement du lieu crée une connexion particulière entre des êtres humains et leur vraie nature. J’ai choisi un style photographique évocateur des tableaux de peinture d’autrefois afin de souligner la relation mystique, la coexistence du passé et du présent dans la vie quotidienne de ces insulaires.

 

À une époque, l’île de Föhr était un coin isolé de la Mer du Nord et un havre pour les chasseurs de baleine. Aujourd’hui, l’île cherche à protéger son identité de l’assimilation et de disparition pure et simple. Ses habitants représentent en Allemagne une des dernières communautés possédant leur propre langue. Ils sont connectés avec leur île à un point quasi mystique. Ces liens comportent des facettes complexes ; aujourd’hui, les insulaires se retrouvent pris dans un conflit invisible entre traditions et modernité.

 

J’ai développé ce projet sur les deux années où j’ai été en résidence d’artiste sur l’île de Föhr, en m’impliquant vraiment avec les insulaires de souche jusqu’à être acceptée dans les cercles les plus intimes de leurs vies. J’ai photographié des gens dans l’obscurité, sur leur lieu de travail ou dans leur environnement quotidien, en utilisant, comme un pinceau sur une toile, le faisceau d’une torche pour éclairer telle partie de la scène. Cette technique m’a permis de donner une vision fantastique de l’île, tout en soulignant la fragilité de son essence profonde.