SÉLECTION DU JURY

Marie Sordat

Born in 1976 in France, Lives and works in Brussels.

 

Graduate from the INSAS, Brussels.

 

www.mariesordat.net

 

 

MotherLand, 2012

 

The series MotherLand takes place in two countries, Bosnia-Herzegovina and Georgia.  This winter, I went to these places -loaded with confrontational history- seeking how to tell something about the mother-daughter relationship. Especially when the latter is destructive, and most particularly when there is no relationship left at all.

My goal was neither to produce a documentary nor an autobiographical research, but rather to portray the silence and lack of understanding in this series that lays itself out precisely in 15 images.

Coming from a cinematographic background, I always work my series like a film, with a beginning, an end, using places and people as allegoric or plastic value.

Here I favored the musical rhythm of images, looking to compose my concept album, 15 pieces that would say all that is not possible for me to say with words.

 

"(...)

There are some secrets that are only shared in silence. In the white cold of the frost- covered eras of life, in the interstice of cracked walls, in the interval whence we all come from and where we all look for our return ticket, from the tips of the nails, the product of our thirst,  the quench of our need for the absolute or consolation. Marie Sordat travels (Bosnia-Herzegovina, France, Italy, Georgia, United States...) without bringing back travel pictures -or only from internal journeys, as her photographs are more mental mirrors than the strict reflection of the world surrounding her. A lone soul, nothing surrounds her actually, only a bit of snow and coal. Sometimes, a flash of color passes through the sky. There are moments for forging ahead, others for waiting. Some others for nothing.

 

Sprung as from reality's incisures, the figures drawn by the photographer most often seem to  evoke the tear of motherhood, a corner of the veil lifted on a world in mourning, a return to light's writing as emergence, as apparition.  Here one has to consider the landscape as a state of mind, or rather the states of mind as a particular form of landscape. That includes faces.

 

Marie Sordat gets tough, harshens the contrasts, cuts to the core. MotherLand: shelter or violence, home country or maternal tongue.  But pulling through involves the eyes.  Not - or not any more, or not yet- the mouth, the verb, the words. And to you, Marie, what do they say, in the white of the eyes, the magnificient silences of your images?..."

 

 

Emmanuel d'Autreppe, April 2012

Director, Yellow Now Editions

Written for the exhibit at the Brasseurs, Liege, May 2012

SÉLECTION DU JURY

Marie Sordat

Née en 1976 en France, vit a Bruxelles.

 

Diplômée de l’Institut National Supérieur des arts du Spectacle, Bruxelles.

 

www.mariesordat.net

 

Marie Sordat a une exposition en cours à la Biennale Internationale de la Photo à Liège.

Elle est représentée par la galerie, boxgalerie.be.

La série soumise au Prix Virginia 2012 MotherLand fait désormais partie de la collection de la BnF

 

 

MotherLand, 2012

 

La série MotherLand se déroule dans deux pays, la Bosnie-Herzégovine et la Géorgie. Cet hiver, je suis partie dans ces lieux si chargés d’histoire conflictuelle pour chercher comment dire quelque chose de la relation mère-fille. Spécialement quand celle ci est destructrice, et plus particulièrement quand il n’y a plus de relation du tout. Mon objectif n’était ni de faire du documentaire, ni une recherche auto-biographique, mais plutôt de mettre en image le silence et l’incompréhension dans cette série qui s’agence

précisément en 15 images.

Venant d’une formation cinématographique, je travaille toujours mes séries comme un film, avec un début, une fin, utilisant les lieux et les personnages en tant que valeur allégorique ou plastique.

Ici j’ai privilégié le rythme musical des images, cherchant à composer mon album total, 15 morceaux qui diraient tout ce qu’il ne m’est pas possible de dire avec les mots.

 

« (...)

Il y a des secrets qui ne s’échangent qu’en silence. Dans le blanc froid des périodes givrées de la vie, dans l’interstice des murs craquelés, dans l’intervalle d’où nous venons tous et où tous nous cherchons notre billet de retour, du bout des ongles, comme la monnaie de notre soif, l’étanchement de notre besoin d’absolu ou de consolation. Marie Sordat voyage (Bosnie et Herzégovine, France, Italie, Géorgie, Etats-Unis…) sans ramener de photos de voyages – ou alors de voyages intérieurs, car ses photos sont davantage des miroirs mentaux que le strict reflet du monde qui l’entoure. Une âme seule, rien ne l’entoure d’ailleurs, qu’un peu de neige et de charbon. Parfois, un trait de couleur passe dans le ciel. Il y a des moments pour avancer, d’autres pour attendre. D’autres pour rien.

 

Jaillies comme par les échancrures du réel, les figures que dessine la photographe semblent le plus souvent évoquer la déchirure de la maternité, un coin de voile levé sur un monde en deuil, un retour à l’écriture de la lumière comme surgissement, comme apparition. Il faut ici considérer le paysage comme un état d'âme, ou plutôt les états d'âme comme une forme particulière de paysage. En ce compris les visages.

Marie Sordat durcit le ton, tranche dans les contrastes, taille dans le vif.

 

MotherLand : refuge ou violence, terre patrie ou langue maternelle. Mais s’en sortir passe par les yeux. Pas – ou plus, ou pas encore – par la bouche, par le verbe, par les mots. Et à toi, Marie, que te disent, dans le blanc des yeux, les silences magnifiques de tes images ?...»

 

Emmanuel d’Autreppe, avril 2012

Directeur des éditions Yellow Now,

à l’occasion de l’exposition aux Brasseurs, Liège, mai 2012