2014 JURY'S CHOICE

 

MariaMaria

lives and works in Amsterdam ( Netherlands )

 

www.mariamaria.nl

 

 

Near the water

MariaMaria is a professional artist ‘born’ in Amsterdam, the Netherlands in 1995 and the pair have worked together on their photo images ever since. Position, memory and repetition play a vital role in the work of artist duo MariaMaria. Their work is based on a consistent concept: Two persons at an anonymous location without an audience performing or re-performing a scene from everyday life. To question reality they play the dual role of photographer and performer whilst exploring the possibilities of analogue photography.

 

Water is a recurring scenery in our work; a choice which lies completely in line with our concept bringing in unknown locations. The same two human figures are always part of these live water landscapes. In our role as photographers we shoot our images through a distant methodology and use film techniques. Photography as a medium doesn’t tell a definite truth but rather shows how the camera ‘saw’ it. As performers we have to transform from actual people into depersonalized models and become props. It’s important that we relate ourselves as ‘objects’ equivalent to the environment of the different waters a lake, a sea, pond or ditch and to each other.

 

The photo images show the static moment in the choreography by creating a still life of two persons being at the water. The repetition of the presence of docks creates a new sub-series within the water series. Our dual presence in space and time results in photographs in which recipients of the same image see and experience different continents of the world. The abstraction of the location seems to step across borders. It's about looking at the everyday world through various positions that are occupied by the different points of view of

performers/models, photographer/camera -position and of equal importance the position of the recipients/viewers.

SÉLECTION DU JURY

 

MariaMaria

vit et travaille aux Pays Bas

 

www.mariamaria.nl

 

 

Près de l’eau

MariaMaria est une artiste professionnelle ‘née’ à Amsterdam, aux Pays-Bas, en 1995. Depuis ce jour, son duo fondateur collabore sur la création d’images photo. La position, la mémoire et la répétition jouent un rôle essentiel dans l’œuvre du tandem MariaMaria. Leur travail repose sur un concept cohérent : deux personnes placées dans un lieu anonyme, sans public, qui jouent et re-jouent une scène de la vie ordinaire. À travers leur double rôle d’acteur et de photographe, elles remettent en question la réalité et explorent les possibilités offertes par la photographie analogique.

 

L’eau est un décor récurrent au travers de notre œuvre ; un choix qui fait écho à notre prédilection pour les lieux inconnus. Au sein de ces paysages d’eau vibrants, on retrouve toujours les deux mêmes personnages. Notre approche consiste à capter les images à l’aide d’une méthodologie distante et de techniques filmiques. La photographie ne raconte pas une vérité certaine, mais présente la vérité telle que « vue » par l’appareil photo. En tant qu’actrices, notre rôle consiste à nous transformer ; passer de personnes réelles à des mannequins dépersonnalisés et accessoires. Il est important pour nous de nous percevoir comme étant des « objets », de la même manière que les différents environnements aquatiques (un lac, une mer, une mare ou un ravin).

 

Les images photographiques capturent un moment statique d’une chorégraphie, créant ainsi une nature morte de deux personnes dans l’eau. La présence répétitive de pontons créé une catégorie nouvelle à l’intérieur de la série eau. Notre double-présence dans l’espace et dans le temps nous permet de créer des images qui invitent chaque spectateur à reconnaître et à percevoir un continent différent. La nature abstraite du lieu dépasse le concept des frontières. Il s’agit de regarder le monde quotidien sous différents angles, infusés des points de vue variés des mannequins/acteurs, du photographe/de l’appareil photo, et, tout aussi important, le point de vue du public/spectateur.