JURY'S CHOICE

 

Katrien de Blauwer

Lives in Belgium

 

www.katriendeblauwer.com

 

 

 

As best I can remember, my relationship with collage started very young. When I finished my fashion design studies in Amiens, my first experiments were simple notebooks, mood books made up of fragments from magazines. I now see them clearly as a prelude to my practice.

 

The works I am presenting here for the Prix Virginia are a meticulous summary of a practice that is nonetheless spontaneous. I have attempted to associate the shapes, lines, and sometimes colors of each of my collages that they might, despite their singularity, exist together and communicate. I like to describe myself as a photographer without a camera, offering a second reading of existing images. My sources are these forgotten photographs that I recycle and bring together. They regain, through the act of collage – similar to that of montage – all of their lost vibrancy.

 

Starting with a selection of images collected from old magazines, I compose collages. In this way they emerge from the unsuspected connections among several figures, among the motifs and nuances that I cut, paste, and cut again. More than simply formal, these associations are dictated by my feelings and reflect the stimulating paradox of my practice. Indeed, the choices I make in the treatment of the fragments represent my own personal life, though I manipulate anonymous images that are at first sight distant from me. By banishing gazes and faces from my compositions, I maintain a certain neutrality, a freedom of interpretation that voluntarily leaves space for anyone who wants to position themselves within them. From that concern for neutrality emerges the narrative and memorial potential of my collages.

SÉLECTION DU JURY

 

Katrien de Blauwer

Vit et travaille en belgique

 

www.katriendeblauwer.com

 

 

 

D’aussi longtemps que je me souvienne, mon histoire avec le collage a commencé très tôt.

Au sortir de mes études de mode à Anvers, mes premières expérimentations se résumaient alors à des carnets, des mood books composés de fragments de magazines. Je les vois aujourd’hui clairement comme une prélude à ma pratique.

 

Les travaux que je propose ici pour le prix Virginia sont un condensé minutieux d’une pratique pourtant spontanée. J’ai tenté justement d’associer les formes, les lignes et parfois les couleurs de chacun de mes collages pour qu’ils puissent, malgré leur singularité, exister ensemble et se répondre. J’aime me décrire comme une photographe dépourvue d’appareil, offrant une deuxième lecture à des images existantes. Mes sources sont ces photographies oubliées que je recycle et relie entre elles. Elles retrouvent par l’action du collage, similaire à la technique du montage, toute leur vibrance passée.

 

C’est à partir d’une sélection d’images collectées dans de vieux magazines que je compose ces collages. Ils naissent ainsi d’une connexion insoupçonnée entre plusieurs figures, entre les motifs et les nuances que je coupe, colle et recoupe. Plus que simplement formelles, ces associations sont dictées par mon ressenti et reflètent le stimulant paradoxe de ma pratique. En effet, les choix que j’opère dans le traitement des fragments font état de ma propre intimité, alors même que je manipule des images anonymes, a priori distantes de moi. En bannissant les regards et les visages de mes compositions, je garde une certaine neutralité, une liberté d’interprétation qui laisse volontairement la place à quiconque veut s’y mettre. C’est de ce souci d’universalité que naît le potentiel narratif et mémoriel de mes collages.