JURY'S CHOICE

 

Jen Davis

Born in 1978, lives New York, USA

 

Graduate of the Yale University School of Art, USA.

 

www.jendavisphoto.com

 

Upcoming events/exhibitions below:

Speaker at Dok:13

International Photo Festival in Fredrikstad, Norway

"Body Time"

Exhibition in September 2013 at Braenderigaarden Centre of Contemporary Art in Viborg, Denmark

 

 

In this body of work, I deal with the insecurities associated with my body image and the direct correlation between self-perception and the way one is perceived by others.

Photography is the medium that I use to tell my story through life, an outlet for revealing my struggles and thoughts in regards to the society in which we live.  A society that dictates beauty based on ones physical appearance.

 

I have built a relationship between the camera and myself where I transform the act of taking a photograph into a performance for the camera. My work is partially based on personal experiences that I have re-constructed into a photograph, and the other part consists of made up fantasies of what I imagine a physical relationship to be regarding intimacy, love and desire.

 

Through the act of photographing I invite the viewer into the past ten years of my private life, exploring the vulnerabilities that I carry associated with a life-long struggle with my body, feelings of isolation, the battle to recognize beauty, and quest for intimacy.

 

 

 

 

Courtesy of the artist and Lee Marks Fine Art

SÉLECTION DU JURY

 

Jen Davis

Née en 1978, vit et travaille à New York, USA

 

Diplômée de la Yale University School of Art, USA.

 

www.jendavisphoto.com

 

Expositions à venir:

Speaker at Dok:13

Festival international de photo à Fredrikstad, Norvège

"Body Time"

Exposition en Septembre 2013 au Centre d'Art contemporain Braenderigaarden à Viborg, Danemark

 

 

Dans cet ensemble de travaux, j’ai traité des incertitudes associées à mon apparence physique, et de la corrélation directe entre la perception de nous-mêmes et la manière dont nous sommes perçus par les autres.

La photographie est le moyen d’expression que j’utilise pour raconter mon parcours dans la vie. C’est un exutoire pour exposer mes combats et mes pensées à l’égard de la société dans laquelle nous vivons ; une société qui impose un idéal de beauté basé sur l’apparence physique.

 

J’ai forgé une relation entre mon appareil photo et moi où je transforme l’acte de prendre une photo en une performance devant l’objectif. Mon travail est, d’une part, basé sur des expériences personnelles que j’ai re-construites en une photo, et d’autre part, repose sur des fantasmes inventés de ce que j’imagine être une relation physique du point de vue de l’intimité, de l’amour et du désir.

 

À travers l’acte de photographier, j’invite le spectateur à une plongée dans les dix dernières années de ma vie privée, à une exploration des fragilités qui sont miennes, associée au combat de toujours avec mon corps, les sentiments d’isolement, la lutte pour identifier la beauté, et la quête d’intimité.

 

 

 

Avec l'aimable autorisation de l'artiste et de Lee Marks Fine Art